Chocolate Chip Cookies

cookie dough

Last night I wanted cookies. Honestly, I wanted cookie dough. Isn’t that why everyone makes chocolate chip cookies? To eat the dough? Well, that’s why I make it. But then, you can’t just make the dough, right? That’s completely giving in to your inner fat kid. So, I actually made cookies.

I have a strained relationship with chocolate chip cookies. I can never seem to get them right. If they’re done on the top, the bottoms are burnt. They thin out and spread in the oven and come out flat and hard. I so desire that ultimate chewy chocolate chip cookie. Regardless of how the cookies bake, the dough is usually still delicious.

What I have discovered is that you should NEVER follow the recipe on the back of the chocolate chips. It is most definitely not the best recipe. But that’s where Google comes in. Or my personal favorite kitchen-helper,  Supercook. If you’ve never stumbled upon this site – it’s amazing. Just put in the ingredients you have on hand and it spits out hundred of recipes from all over the internet that you can make!

That’s how I discovered this recipe. It claims to be a no-fail recipe and I believe it. I only made half of the recipe. (Like I said, I was just in it for the dough, the cookies were a bonus!) I also added a little water because the batter was a little too thick, of course that might have been from halving it. They turned out soft and chewy in the middle with a little bit of crisp on the outside. Delicious!

I’m still searching for that perfect, chewy cookie recipe. Let me know if you’ve found it!

Share with me

