Books are Made for Reading

I was going through old posts and discovered the following book list that was included in a list of books I planned to read in the year of 2007. It’s 2013 and I have yet to read many of these books. Okay, most of these books. And in reading over the list, I’m a little shocked that these are the books I was looking to read.

In fairness, I started The Alchemist and Lolita. I have seen and read parts of Hamlet, Pride & Prejudice, and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. And a long time ago I was supposed to read The Catcher in the Rye and Mythology for school, so I’ve read the SparkNotes. (Side note, this web-site does still exist and is so much more organized than it ever was when I was in school!)

BookwormThe Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
Animal Farm by George Orwell
Lost by Gregory Maguire
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Mythology by Edith Hamilton
Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
City of Glass by Paul Auster
I, Lucifer by Glen Duncan
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
The Sight by David Clement-Davies
Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoybooks
Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Hamlet by William Shakespeare
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
In Search of Lost Time by Marcel Proust
The Stories of Anton Chekhov by Anton Chekhov
Middlemarch by George Eliot
Watership Down by Richard Adams
The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test by Tom Wolfe
In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez

I’m not sure that I still want to read all of these books. In 2007 I can almost promise you I wouldn’t have turned down a book. Not because I just love to read and will read anything. That is a lie. Not because I was so open-minded and seeking knowledge from every source. That is an exaggeration. I had to play my part.

I was an English major. I needed to read all literature – great and small. I needed to expand my horizons as a writer by reading a plethora of authors and genres. Most importantly, I need to be better read than you. Or at least as well read as you.

Well, it’s six years later and I no longer need to impress you. I’m confident enough in my own intellectual abilities. And, if you’re an avid reader, I am certain I haven’t read all the books you have. I have been craving to create a book list of recommendations from real paper. Not scholarly articles or popular surveys. It’s time to compile my very own quarter-life reading list.

Please give me suggestions!

Share with me

