Seven Pounds Down

andthatswhiam.tumblr.comNo, I didn’t stutter. You read correctly. Seven pounds down in, oh, what’s that? Three days. Yes, friends. Three days.

So I vowed to do this 3-Day Military Diet weeks ago and I’ve been a slacker. I finally conquered my slackerness (it’s a word, trust me) and made friends with cottage cheese. And in three days I dropped seven pounds. Which is good because Thanksgiving was not good to my waistline. I’m planning to do another round of it to see what the success scale looks like the second time around.

Some other unnamed relations of mine followed this diet as well and had slightly less dramatic results. They both lost 5 lbs. on the first go-around and one of them continued and lost 3 lbs. on the second shot. So I’m not sure how plausible the 10 lb. mark is for this diet, but it’s definitely effective. And, it’s only three days. I assure you that if I can commit to this diet, you most definitely can.

Once I set my mind to it, the diet was surprisingly easy to follow. The first day I was crazy hungry at lunch, so I cheated one of the dinner foods into my lunch. And for toast I substituted an English muffin. It’s roughly the same caloric content, but it made me feel like I was getting to eat more food. I also went for yogurt in the evenings instead of ice cream as I’m lactose intolerant and I know what ice cream does to my stomach. The answer is terrible, terrible things.

Another dieter who has a self-proclaimed addiction to soft drinks said she got some headaches from the caffeine withdrawal since you cut it out on days two and three. I do have bit of a complaint, and it’s a strange one. There was so much food for dinner! Almost more food than I was interested in eating at that point in my day. I suppose that’s because, in theory, I should have been also doing strenuous exercise (military diet, you know…) and I was not. In which case, you would want a big meal after burning all those additional calories.

I should also mention that I didn’t follow it for the dinner of the third day. We went to a Memorial Service for the father of a Nigerian friend and, of course, there was Nigerian food, so I had a nice helping of spicy rice and chicken. Oh well, so sue me. But imagine what I might have lost if I had kept to the diet then too…

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me: Yogi Green Tea Blueberry Slim Life and it was surprisingly delicious. I was more than impressed. On the second day of Christmas, however, I over-steeped my tea and it was not nearly as delicious as I wish it had been. Ah, c’est la vie.

Share with me

