Moving Day: The Rest is History

I had this long, very personal post about moving and how stressful it is, but I deleted it. The whole thing. It was morose and all it did was succeed in giving me anxiety rather than taketh away. But the fact of the matter is, I am moving on Saturday to a whole new state six hours south.

 Moving is definitely a Catch-22. I love going through all of my stuff and getting rid of things and purging! That part is glorious. I don’t even mind that I’ve done about 75% of the packing thus far (since I’m hoping my husband will be doing 75% of the loading/unloading). In fact, I kind of enjoy choosing items to go into specific boxes and making them fit. I find it all to be almost therapeutic.

 There’s also the technical logistics. Changing your address on ten thousand different things. Making sure all your loose ends are tied up (returned library books, etc). Changing your car insurance and driver’s license. Renting the moving truck. Paying lots of moving expenses. None of this is fun.

 And then there’s saying good-bye. My parents and sister are still here, so I’ll be back, but it’s not the same. You can keep in touch with people, but it’s a different relationship when people live in different cities. Sometimes the relationship gets stronger. It requires more work and that strengthens your bond. It also often allows for more intimate and meaningful conversations. Often, however, it leads to a friendship fizzling away and dying out. It’s a natural evil that will continue to occur throughout my life. It doesn’t make the reality of it any more enjoyable.

 In my packing process I am attempting to only take the things I need or truly love. This, however, is a bit of a daunting task. There are still those things that I have trouble parting with – be it old journals or scrapbooks, items given to me or made by someone special, some music and books and cds that I’m not quite ready to part with. Luckily for me my mother isn’t quite ready to part with my things either and leaving them here is a reminder to her that I will indeed be returning and am not gone forever. So I’m taking things to lead me into the future and everything I’ve left behind, as they say, is history.

2 thoughts on “Moving Day: The Rest is History

Share with me

