What Would You Do?

I´m teaching out of a new set of books that the Colombo Americano here in Cartagena will be using – TouchStone after their previous provider – TopNotch – reneged on the exlusivity portion of their contract. And sometimes I find the activities surprisingly enlightening. The Unit I just finished today was all about wishes and regrets. And even though it´s a class of primarily 16 year olds, I really got a lot out of responding to the questions in my own head. So, I thought I´d share…

1. If you had an hour to spare right now, what would you do?
Apparently write this blog. Which is really an effective use of my time since it´s been about six months since I last updated. Which I am planning to improve upon. But if I weren´t writing this blog I would probably use the time to e-mail some people that I owe responses. And call my sister to say Hello.

2. If you had one month of free time, what would you do?
If money weren´t a concern, I would travel all over Colombia with Lanre. Visiting Medellin, Cali, the Pacific Coast and all the interesting places in between. Studying Spanish all the way.

3. If you had to choose one thing to carry with you through life, what would you choose?
A good book. Or a journal. I suppose a journal could be a good book, after all.

4. If you had to choose one electronic gadget to without, what would you choose?
Here in Colombia, my cell phone. Lanre is pretty much the only person I call, sadly. But in the States…I don´t think I would be willing to give up any of my electronic devices. They´re all quite necessary to me living a happy existence.

5. If you could invite a famous person to a party, who would you invite?
Anderson Cooper. Why? Because I love his show. I think he asks good questions. I find him to be dead sexy. And I also think he´s gay. So, pretty much that makes him the perfect man.

6. If you could be like one person, who would you be like?
I would probably have to say my father. He takes things with stride in a way that I hope to some day exemplify. But my mother is exceedingly motivated and that is something I also strive for.

7. If you could choose any job, what work would you choose?
I would choose to be a singer. Not a famous singer because that would bring way more attention than I want in my life. But to work full time for a concert hall or something performing in different events. I think that would be a spectacular job. Doing what I´ve loved since I was four without any of the political, dramatic bullshit that usually accompanies it.

8. If you could have one special talent, what would it be?
This is the one I had the most trouble with. I actually skipped it mentally and returned to it. I suppose it would be amazing to be able to eat whatever I wanted and not gain any weight. But that, of course, could potentially backfire at some point in my life. So I suppose I´d quite love to have the ability of teleportation. Then I would never have to worry about being far from someone I love.

9. If you had to give up on habit, what would it be?
One of my sixteen year olds said she´d give up her arrogance which I thought seemed a very mature answer for her young age. I think I would give up laziness. I always wish I was a more productive person. Lanre doesn´t like for me to say the word wish anymore because he gets frustrated that I´m always wishing instead of doing. And here I am, wishing again.

10. If you had one wish, what would it be?
In the short term, I just wish that Lanre could attend Bekah´s wedding with me and meet my family and that we could travel around the US now instead of spending hundreds of dollars and months of time to do it later. :(

Not a bad little survey for an English textbook, eh?

One thought on “What Would You Do?

Share with me

