One Way Flight

Next Wednesday I am heading to Cartagena, Colombia on a one-way flight with no pre-determined date of return. The plan is to stay for a year or so before heading somewhere new or returning home. There will be visits home along the way and if anyone’s interested in coming to visit me (warm weather, dark men, sandy beaches) they can check out Spirit Airlines. You can do a round-trip flight for under $400 from DC.

My biggest dilemma right now is what to pack. I am only taking one big suitcase as my check-in and my backpack & a small suitcase as carry-ons. How does one pack up their entire life into 1 1/2 suitcases? The guitar got the boot as did any large shoes. Luckily Lanre is a staggering 5’9″ or so and heels aren’t really necessary. (Plus I hate them.) But there is still a LOT to be packed. Luckily I like making lists and I’ve made oodles of them. But, no matter how many lists I’ve made, I’ll never be quite positive that I have absolutely everything I need. Luckily I’m not moving to the New World or anything. They do have their version of Wal-Mart where I can find most anything I need. Maybe I can even find boxed Macaroni & Cheese somewhere if I look hard enough. ;)

2 thoughts on “One Way Flight

  1. Hey Rachel,
    I’m pretty sure you might ..remember me..My Mother was Mary Bennett, and I’m Donna Johnson’s sister. I’m looking forward to following your adventures on your web site. I have some friends on my FB from Ecuador, my daughter Stephanie lived in Quanca for a short time and attended Augustana College.
    I really wanted to let you know that you are and will continue to be in my prayers. I pray that you enjoy each and every minute of your tour and that God keeps you safe. Love and hugs Kathi Martin
    P.S. You are an awesome writer… maybe something for you to consider… :) I’m going to ask to be your friend on FB to follow your travels..

  2. Hey Rachel — just checking in to see where you’re at these days — is this still the most recent place to find you?

Share with me

