I Could Care Less

I have never understood people who tell me they can’t find a job. Perhaps, yes, finding a job is difficult, but maybe that is merely because people are proud or unwise in their job searches.

I searched fervently for a job for a few days. I applied to every open position I could find. And even some that I didn’t find. And I managed to find not only one  job, but this week I will start training for my third. You call me crazy, I call me wanting to get the hell out of dodge. And I was called for interviews for three other positions that I politely declined. Though, I’ll be honest, I am good at interviews and, given the opportunity, I would bet money that I could have landed any one of those other jobs. (I’m infinitely modest too, as you can tell.) And I am aware that my resume is perhaps a bit prettier than the average person. And, if nothing else, my past work abroad intrigues people. The deciding factor in my most recent job, however, astounds me. 

If you majored in English, you can always recognize another English major. There is a camaraderie that even I don’t quite understand. I suppose the English Major just attracts a specific breed of person. Or maybe your major really has that much of an effect on your future self. Either way, we kind of stick together in a sense. I suppose we understand each other.

Recently I sat down with my new boss who told me that it was between me and another candidate and it was a difficult decision. I suppose maybe that’s what bosses are supposed to say, so I challenged him on it and asked, “What was the deciding factor?” He said to me, “In your interview you said something that really struck me.” I assumed he was referring to my story about living abroad or some aspect of the recruitment plan I created for the second interview. Instead he said, “I couldn’t care less. You might be the only person I have ever met that says that correctly. I knew someone that sharp needed to be a part of our team.”

You will be unsurprised to note that I was later informed that his undergraduate work was in English.

Share with me

