The Survey

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?
Let’s see…I bought alcohol legally in the US and subsequently blacked out for the first time ever. I sobbed over a book and over the end of a musical – publicly, on stage, in front of everyone.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I didn’t make one for last year. I did make one for this year though – each month I want to write at least one poem, one story and go at least one new place.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Becca Graham had a baby girl. I don’t know that she and I are necessarily close, but I did go to the Baby Shower.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Fortunately not.

5. What countries did you visit?
Unfortunately just the boring ol’ USofA. But there are exciting travel plans coming up for 2008.

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
I’d like to have more adventures, because after all, “When you’re on an adventure, anything can happen!”

7. What date from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
June 25th, I guess – My 21st Birthday. Maybe July 21st – the Harry Potter release date.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Man, 2007 really pales in comparison to 2006, it’s kind of sad. I gained a lot of confidence in 2007 and allowed myself to experience things that previously I never would have done.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not keeping in touch very well.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing worth mentioning.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Rent to my place in Frostburg.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
It’s ironic that my answer to this question is one of the answers I gave to the next question last year. I’d have to say, however, that Josh’s behavior merits celebration. He really stepped up as a person, an actor, a singer, a friend, a student. I’ve been exponentially impressed with him this year and really very proud of him.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Those words are so harsh. I don’t know how to answer this question, really. There are people I’ve been disappointed in at different times, but that’s to be expected. And for sake of drama, I won’t mention any names. But there are those that have been very shitty to other humans, even if it wasn’t toward me and if they don’t know that downfall, that’s too bad for them.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent, food, and alcohol.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
My birthday.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?
Any song from the “Into the Woods” soundtrack.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder?
Happier, I think.
ii. richer or poorer? Richer, a bit.
iii. thinner or fatter? Eh, same.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
You can always wish you’d done more of something. I guess I wish I’d done more traveling, but I’m pretty satisfied with what I did in this year.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Dealing with drama. I’m still wondering if it ever goes away…

20. How will you be spending the Holidays?
Christmas was spent with family and close friends. New Years was spent with lots of amazing friends and strangers.

22. Did you fall in love in 2007?
No, but it’s not a priority of mine.

23. How many one-night stands?
Zero. “What kind of a hussie do you think I am?”

24. What was your favorite TV program?
“Lost” and “Scrubs”

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Oh, hate. What a pointless word. Hate just really means that you love and don’t want to admit it. And that’s unfortunate.

26. What was the best book you read?
“Fahrenheit 451” by Ray Bradbury

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Dar Williams is the greatest of them.

28. What did you want and get?
A new digital camera. And to move to Frostburg.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Naturally, that depends on the time of year you ask me. But I’d have to say “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix”, as far as new movies go. Otherwise, I’d have to say “De Lovely”.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I worked at Kramer’s then went to dinner with some of my family and close friends. Then I went out with my sister and some friends and got really, really, really drunk. The next day at 2 PM the hangover finally hit. But after all, what’s a 21st birthday for?!

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Traveling more – to anywhere.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
I still don’t have one, though it still hasn’t changed from last year: a hippy-esque inspired mix or a girl-next door jeans & t-shirt style.

34. What kept you sane?
I’d have to say that I generally kept myself sane. And I owe a lot to Kate and Erinrose as well.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Do I fancy? None. Absolutely not a single one.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
It’s unneccessary to talk about how much I still hate President Bush.

37. Who did you miss?
I missed Caitlin. And Adam. And John.

38. Who was the best new person you met?:
Well, I didn’t just meet her, but it wasn’t until the last year that I really got to know her really well – Erinrose. She’s a wonderful roommate and one of the greatest friends a girl could have.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007:
There’s a lot to life that can be found in your own backyard. It’s just a matter of walking outside, having that adventure and finding it.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
“Well the sun rose with so many colors, it nearly broke my heart. It worked me over like a work of art and I was a part of all that.” – After All by Dar Williams

Share with me

