Hobbledehoy of my Heart

as overheard @ virgin megastores in union square, nyc.

girl #1: I’m funny.
girl #2: No you’re not.
girl #1: Yes I am. Everyone says I’m hilarious.
girl #2: Of course they do. That’s because you aren’t pretty.

I was talking to John one day and he said, “Oh my gosh! There’s been a tragedy in the States. I guess you don’t get much American news over there!” So I flipped out, “What?! What happened?!” thinking that it was something terrible. He says, “Katie Couric is leaving The Today Show to go to CBS!!!” So I guess the good news is that national security hasn’t been breached.

Recently Dictionary.com’s Word of the Day was hobbledehoy (yes I am subscribed to their Word of the Day) which is ‘an awkward, gawky young fellow’. Ever since then I’ve been searching endlessly to find the epitome of such a fellow, to no avail.

2 thoughts on “Hobbledehoy of my Heart

  1. Cut: Journal entry
    If you want a mood that isn’t there chose the mood that means the same thing and type your mood into the blank box next to it.
    Hope that helps lol.

  2. Earthlink puts Dictionary.com’s Word on the homepage so I saw that one, too. Funny thing is last night I came across it in a book I’m reading- Anya Seton’s Katherine. It must be more of an old-fashioned word. :)
    My Song of the Moment would be ‘The Reflex’ by Duran Duran. Extremely vital information?

Share with me

